Ava’s birth

Long overdue. Hopefully I remember everything.

Wednesday November 16th around 9pm we checked in at Baylor Grapevine. We were given the biggest labor room, it was huge! They gave me a pill to attempt to jump start labor. We waited 4 hours and nothing. They gave me another pill and this one worked! I was having steady contractions and we started pitocin and I got an epidural.

Oh Dr. Needleman. Rude, short with me and missed the first try. The pain was so bad I couldn’t speak. He got angry that I couldn’t explain my pain. His 2nd try worked and we moved on.

The whole day went by very slowly. I wasn’t progressing very much and Ava was not in a good position. I was put in every imaginal position trying to get her in a good position. Just when it looked like it wasn’t going to happen and I started to prepare mentally for a c/s Dr. Walters told me it was time to push.

I am very competitive and tried to get Dr. Walters to give me a number of pushes to beat. She just laughed. 7 sets of pushes and 15 minutes later Ava Elizabeth Rench was born at 10:14 on November 17th, 2011. She weighed 8lbs 7oz. and was 20inches.

She was very quiet which freaked me out. Only gave a couple little cries. But everyone kept telling me she was perfectly fine. She did get a bit banged up during delivery. Had some bruising on her chest and head and her left arm got stuck. So in her first few hours of life she had x-rays. I spiked a high fever during labor so she and I were both on antibiotics and she had to have some blood drawn. My poor little trooper.

Even with all of that she was just beautiful and perfect and we are so lucky and blessed to have her.

image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

